Boards & Commissions

Historic Preservation Commission

The City of Bainbridge has determined that the historical, cultural, and aesthetic heritage is among its most valued and important assets and that the preservation of this heritage is essential to the promotion of the health, prosperity and general welfare of the people.

The commission consists of nine members with two ex-officio members, including the City Planner and Community Development Director. Members include Allyson Whittaker (Chairperson), Rhonda Kendrick, Melinda Glenn, Clayton Penhallegon.
The Historic Preservation ordinance was adopted by the governing body in order to stimulate revitalization of the business districts, historic neighborhoods, and to protect and enhance local historical and aesthetic attractions to tourists and thereby promote and stimulate business.

For more information:



Local Historic Development Guidelines

Local Historic District Design Guidelines 2022

C.O.A. Application

C.O.A. Application

C.O.A. Guidelines

C.O.A. Guidelines

Historic Preservation Ordinance

Historic Preservation Ordinance

Planning Commission

The Bainbridge-Decatur County Planning Commission is composed seven members, with three representing Decatur County and three representing the City of Bainbridge, and a mutually agreed upon Chairperson that can be from either the city or the county. The functions of the planning commission are:

  • Review the zoning ordinance/subdivision regulations and the county land development regulations to make recommendations to either the city council or the board of commissioners for amendments where appropriate.

  • Recommend goals and objectives to the city council and board of commissioners for the implementation and enforcement of city and county ordinances and regulations.

  • Conduct meetings to review proposed amendments to ordinances in order to make recommendations to the city council or board of commissioners on rezoning applications, annexation applications, subdivisions and conditional use permits after receiving written comments on the application from the planning director; provided, however, no action by the planning commission shall constitute "final action" on zoning decisions.

  • Assists with the preparation and maintenance of the Comprehensive Plans of both the City of Bainbridge and Decatur County to ensure its consistency with state and federal laws.

  • Provides information to citizens, residents or members of the business community on interpretation and administration of the regulations adopted by the City and County.

Meetings & Work Sessions:

Meetings are held on the 2nd Tuesday of each month at 6:00 PM. 

Bainbridge City Council Chambers

101 S. Broad Street

Bainbridge, Georgia 39817

Bainbridge-Decatur County Planning Commission Members:

Frank Flowers (Chair)- City of Bainbridge Appointee

Scott Ewing- City of Bainbridge Appointee

Lachonda Mackey- City of Bainbridge Appointee

Valerie Stubbs- City of Bainbridge Appointee

John Marshall- Decatur County Appointee

Jeff Rich- Decatur County Appointee

Alan Davis- Decatur County Appointee